Indiana Authors Award Winners Announced

INDIANAPOLIS — Three Hoosier native authors were recognized as winners of 2013 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award at the annual awards ceremony on October 26 at Central Library. The Indiana Authors Award recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. The Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of the Central Indiana Community Foundation.
National Award winner Michael Martone, a native of Ft. Wayne, is the author of such recent works as Four for a Quarter; Not Normal; Illinois: Peculiar Fiction from the Flyover; Racing in Place: Collages, Fragments, Postcards, Ruins; and Double-wide, his collected early stories. The National Award carries a $10,000 prize, along with a $2,500 grant to a public library of Martone’s choice.
Regional Author winner is James H. Madison, the Thomas and Kathryn Miller Professor Emeritus of History at Indiana University and author of such books as Eli Lilly: A Life; A Lynching in the Heartland; Slinging Doughnuts for the Boys: An American Woman in World War II; World War II: A History in Documents; and The Indiana Way: A State History. Madison will receive $7,500 as well as a $2,500 grant to his chosen public library.
Announced as the winner of the Emerging Author award is Indianapolis young adult author Mike Mullin, whose debut, Ashfall, was named one of the top five young adult novels in 2011 by National Public Radio, a Best Teen Book by Kirkus Reviews, and a New Voices selection by the American Booksellers Association. His second novel for young adults is Ashen Winter. Mullin receives a $5,000 prize, in addition to the $2,500 grant to a chosen public library.