Colleges, School Districts Receive Teacher Support Grants

INDIANA — The Indiana Commission for Higher Education has awarded more than $900,000 to four Indiana colleges and nine school corporations as part of the federal Improving Teacher Quality Partnership program. The competitive two year grant matches colleges with high-need school districts to support teacher professional development in an effort to increase student academic achievement.
Of the eight Indiana colleges that applied, four were selected to receive the grant for the 2017-18 school year: Ball State University, Butler University, Indiana University and the University of Notre Dame.
The colleges will partner with nine school districts: Brown County Schools, Edinburgh Community School Corporation, Indianapolis Public Schools, Marion Community Schools, Michigan City Area Schools, Muncie Community Schools, Randolph Central School Corporation, South Bend Community School Corporation and Yorktown Community Schools.